Views on New Grads Entering Critical Care

Specialties CCU

Published

hi all... i am in my final semester on nursing school!! my graduation is august 10th! woohoo ... sorry i am so excited!

i am doing a school project on new grads entering the critical care. i would like your view points good and bad. do you want new grads to enter the critical care so you can mold them or do you think they should have more experience before they attempt the critical care? also what do you think it takes to be a critical care nurse? any input would greatly be appreciated! if you have any stories please send, i would love to hear anything.

thanks in advance,

erika

Specializes in Education, FP, LNC, Forensics, ED, OB.

hello, studentnurse825,

you might want to look at these threads about new grads in the ccu:

https://allnurses.com/forums/f15/eating-our-young-168288.html

https://allnurses.com/forums/f15/do-you-hire-new-grads-you-icu-164899.html

congratulations on your final semester and good luck with the remainder of your program.

Good morning Student Nurse!!

Look at the threads that Siri mentioned. Lots of "discussion" there. Please also, look at the references that Timothy provided from the AACN (American Association of Critical-care Nurses)...you'll find it in the thread "eating our young".

Good luck in your last semester!!;)

Specializes in Cardiac/CCU.

I started out in critical care as a new grad, and felt I couldn't have gone anywhere else. I had no problems, finished orientation early; and I have always advocated it, feeling that with good orientation/training it shouldn't be a problem. Keep in mind, I worked my way through school as a CNA and a certain position my hospital has that allowed me to do tasks already learned in school, everything except passing meds (and I do mean everything).