I need some help!

Nurses General Nursing

Published

• by at2726
    Specializes in Dermatology, GI, and PACU.

I have been offered a position on a med/telemetry unit and I am a little nervous about the position. When I applied for the job it was listed as a cardiovascular short stay unit doing CV procedures, but in actual reality it is an inpatient telemetry unit. I'm not so nervous about working on a telemetry unit, however I am nervous about having to float into the ICU. I don't know what it is about the ICU, but it really scares me as a nurse. If I do except the position, it only comes with four weeks of orientation, which I don't think is long enough. My background is in GI and Dermatology and Plastic Surgery. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated on how to prepare mentally and physically for a critical care position! I have until Tuesday to make my decision about the job. I also considered following a nurse for one shift to make sure I really want to be on this unit. HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!! :uhoh21::o

CaLLaCoDe, BSN, RN

1,174 Posts

Specializes in Cardiology, Oncology, Medsurge.

Make sure when and if you float to ICU that the acuity of your patients are low: no vents, no swans, no muti vasoactive drips to tend to. I was floated to ICU from a telemetry floor after 4 months of being a new nurse and given a vented patient that had dopamine, Levaphed (leaves "em dead), fetanyl drip. They told me I would be sharing the patient with the shift leader etc etc. Patient coded 4 hours into shift: I said to myself this is just not right! Anyway, the ICU staff helped me with the calling of the family and the paperwork. I just did not think this was fair at all. So, I would see about starting in ICU rather than being floated there! Just for my piece of mind, anyway sounds like your guts telling you what's best for you!